Maria Menounos

5 Love Languages & Human Design with Dr. Laura Berman

Maria Menounos on Love Languages

Doctor and sex therapist Laura Berman breaks down the importance of understanding our own love languages and the love languages of the people around us. We all give and receive love in one of these 5 ways; Words of affirmation, Acts of service, Receiving gifts, quality time, and physical touch. Maria and her guest encourage us to further unpack the 5 love languages, and why they are our individual preferences. Understanding how each of us experiences and feels love, is the key to understanding ourselves on a deeper level as well as our partners. 

Maria and Dr. Berman also delve into the subject of Enneagrams and human design to encourage listeners to further understand themselves and their purpose. 

5 Love Languages
1. Words of affirmation  

People whose main love language are words of affirmation thrive off praise and encouragement. It is important however to note that the intentions and emotions behind

Those words have to be genuine. If your love language is words of affirmation it means you put a lot of value on the things people say to you and feel, and feel appreciated and loved when positive reassurance, such as ‘I’m proud of you’ ‘You’re doing a great job’  is verbalized to you. You can also feel under-appreciated if someone doesn’t give you verbal validation, or affirm you regularly.    

2. Acts of service.

If this is your love language, anything a loved one does to lighten your workload, for example cleaning the house or making dinner is a sign of love to you. When acts of service are your primary love language you feel adoration from your partner through the things that they do for you, it can even be small tasks that take one less thing off your plate, that can be highly rewarding for you.  

3. Receiving gifts

Gift giving doesn’t necessarily have to be rooted in materialism or shallowness.

 When this is your love language, it’s the thoughtfulness behind the gift that is the most important factor.  A thoughtful gift, something as simple as someone remembering to pick you up your favorite coffee when you’ve had a tough day will make you feel special. The tangible nature of gifts, act as symbols of the relationship. They also act as reminders that your partner is thinking about you, knows you, and that you are thinking of you through what they give you.  

4. Quality time

When this is your love language, undivided attention and a truly present partner is the key to feeling loved and appreciated. This love language is centered around togetherness. You appreciate your partner’s undivided attention without the interruption of cell phones, or day to day life, the intentional setting aside of time for you is very important in feeling loved and appreciated. However a partner who is unable to give you undivided attention for long periods of time could leave you feeling unloved. 

5. Physical touch 

Physical affection such as hugs, holding hands and kissing is the way you prefer to show and express love. Physical touch is also known as the non verbal love language, the physical nature of this love language can be misconstrued as overtly sexual in nature. But it’s actually more centered around intimacy and feeling safe and seen.


Dr Laura also expands on human design as a process of understanding oneself and the loved ones around us. Human design is based on your birth date and time, a complex sociological algorithm that accurately breaks down and explains people’s personality types into either a projector, generator, manifestor, projector, reflector  and manifestor generator. Dr Laura explains how we become these types of people based on a combination of experiences, family, society, upbringing and your soul. She tells us that  human design can be used to help us understand which careers we might find ourselves most satisfied in. As well as helping us to learn about the people we care about, understanding their human design can be a great way to learn how to communicate better with our loved ones.